Gentle Christian Mothers Community

Gentle Christian Mothers Community (http://www.gentlechristianmothers.com/community/index.php)
-   Joyous Homekeeping *Public* (http://www.gentlechristianmothers.com/community/forumdisplay.php?f=429)
-   -   Why not bleach? (http://www.gentlechristianmothers.com/community/showthread.php?t=121631)

joystrength 05-29-2005 08:38 PM

Why not bleach?

OK, I have NOT googled this, just curious. What's the aversion to bleach? Obviously it's not safe to expose small children to it, but isn't it great for household cleaning? Heavy duty germ-killing, etc/

Punkie 05-30-2005 10:32 AM

Re: Why not bleach?

I'm sure you'll get a more in-depth response from someone else, but I don't use bleach because there are other options that work equally well and are non-toxic.
I've had some scary experiences with bleach. If I can get things just as clean and disinfected without the worry of having something dangerous around the house, then I will definitely go that route :)

Mamaka 05-30-2005 07:18 PM

All right, here's the chemist in me coming out :O :rolleyes Bleach contains chlorine which is a fairly caustic element when it's in liquid or gas form. It's fumes can irritate the lungs and respiratory tract. It's corrosive so can damage/irritate the skin, eyes & other membranes. Also, when used in washing machines, the chlorine can be released into the air, basically as an air pollutant. And if mixed w/ammonia becomes a dangerous gas (this is very very very BAD).

Here's an interesting website that talks about the dangers of common household cleaning products including bleach: http://www.mamashealth.com/doc/cleanprod.asp

Soliloquy 05-31-2005 09:15 AM

A very good question!!!

Bleach is in quite a few things -- most dishwasher detergents, for example. The heat and steam from the dishwasher release bleach fumes into the air!