Gentle Christian Mothers Community

Random Quotes from Wise Mamas

~* Please help keep GCM free by using our
Amazon.com affiliate link. Thank you! *~

Go Back   Gentle Christian Mothers Community > Specific Issues > Gentle Discipline *Public*
Forgot Password? Join Us!

Gentle Discipline *Public* A public forum.
GCM Webpage: Gentle Discipline

Old 01-31-2015, 08:58 AM   #1
charlamara

Default Teacher's aid here needing some help :)

Sorry this is so long, I am at a loss as to what to do. I am a paraprofessional working with a smart and sassy six year old Kindergarten girl. I am her primary helper for about 30 hours per week. This child comes to school with a ton of signs of neglect and abuse (these issues have been reported appropriately). I have been with her since the beginning of October. She has an IEP and receives speech, OT, daily pull-outs for reading and math, and is a part of the behavior program. I don't want to put labels on her because I'm not a professional, but I see signs of ODD and attachment issues.

The first 10 weeks I was with this girl, I had a very structured and consistent approach and by Christmas, she was doing AMAZING. When I first went into the classroom, she was self harming, rolling on the floor, running and skipping around the class, jumping up and down, and escaping to the safe place all of the time to get out of work. She refused rest time, couldn't stay in her chair at her table for longer than one minute, and would scribble on all of her assignments. She was mean and bossy to her classmates and acted like a little dictator... had no friends.