Gentle Christian Mothers Community

Random Quotes from Wise Mamas

~* Please help keep GCM free by using our
Amazon.com affiliate link. Thank you! *~

Go Back   Gentle Christian Mothers Community > Blessing our Family > The Cookbook (Recipes, Cooking, & Food Prep) *Public* > Entrees / Main Dishes *Public*
Forgot Password? Join Us!

Old 10-04-2010, 10:14 AM   #1
DragonfliiMama
Rose Garden

DragonfliiMama has a reputation beyond reputeDragonfliiMama has a reputation beyond reputeDragonfliiMama has a reputation beyond reputeDragonfliiMama has a reputation beyond reputeDragonfliiMama has a reputation beyond reputeDragonfliiMama has a reputation beyond reputeDragonfliiMama has a reputation beyond reputeDragonfliiMama has a reputation beyond reputeDragonfliiMama has a reputation beyond reputeDragonfliiMama has a reputation beyond reputeDragonfliiMama has a reputation beyond repute
Default convenience cooking

Convenience food is a HUGE issue for us, especially me. I'm not good at eating healthy, I don't enjoy cooking, and it all feels like just too much work, so I do an awful lot of fast food and even at home a lot of snacky junk foods, meals from a box, etc. Dh likes to cook, is good at it, and is much better at cooking healthy, but still doesn't have a lot of time to do it by the time he gets home from work. Plus we are meat-eaters living in a vegetarian household, so that makes it all the more tempting to eat out.

I need recipes that are:
quick
easy
inexpensive
healthy
heavy on veggies
filling
preferably NOT heavy on beans as a source of protein (we can use frozen chicken/fish patties, eggs, and meat substitutes)

some of our favorites are -
spaghetti
pizza (usually frozen or take out )
homemade mac n cheese bake (but this is more time intensive)
bean casserole with rice, cheese, cream of celery soup, chow mein noodles
cheese"burger" pie
sloppy joes / bbq roast (but i can't do the roast in the crockpot anymore )