Gentle Christian Mothers Community

Gentle Christian Mothers Community (http://www.gentlechristianmothers.com/community/index.php)
-   Regional Recipes *Public* (http://www.gentlechristianmothers.com/community/forumdisplay.php?f=551)
-   -   Tikka Masala (http://www.gentlechristianmothers.com/community/showthread.php?t=529627)

marbles 07-12-2021 11:00 AM

Tikka Masala

We really love Tikka Masala but I'm a beginner to cooking Indian food. I use jarred sauce but it's never spicy like we like it. I am trying to add spice to it but I can't ever get it quite right. It's good, and I can get it mildly spicy, but I found that adding too much of the same cayenne means I then have to balance with other spices. What spices and chilies do you use to add more flavor and heat?

rdsmommy 07-12-2021 12:17 PM

Re: Tikka Masala

I’ve never made this but maybe red pepper flakes or dried guajillo or ancho peppers. Those both have some flavor and not just heat.

twoplustwo 07-12-2021 01:41 PM

:cup I have the same problem with my curry. I can only get it mildly spicy and anything more and its not the right blend.

Laurlor 07-12-2021 04:05 PM

I don't think of Tikka Masala as being too spicy but I think I'd try any red chili like cayenne.

I'm a total recipe person so what I'd do is google a bunch of recipes and see how the spices you're using matches up with a well-reviewed recipe, like this one.

I love Indian food! Good luck!

Soliloquy 07-12-2021 06:23 PM

I haven't made this one but I love the recipes from Nagi at Recipe Tin Eats.

https://www.recipetineats.com/chicken-tikka-masala/

Singingmom 07-12-2021 06:30 PM

https://www.thelazygeniuscollective.com/blog/fctm

I haven’t made it, but if the Lazy Genius loves it I would give it a try. :)

arelyn 07-12-2021 08:19 PM